Audio Review: Dirty – A Dive Bar Novel by Kylie Scott


Love – on the rocks…

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a brokenhearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that come with her.

Lydia Green doesn’t know whether to scream or cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it’s with his best man is another thing altogether. Just when this runaway bride has nowhere left to turn, a handsome stranger offers her a broad, muscular shoulder to cry on. Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessmen she’s normally drawn to. This former musician turned bartender is rough around the edges and is facing his own crossroads. But Lydia’s already tried Mr. Right and discovered he’s all wrong. Maybe it’s time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what’s wrong with getting dirty?

Review 5* Stars

Dirty is the first audiobook in the Dive Bar series from best-selling author Kylie Scott.

Listening to Dirty was my first venture into the work of Kylie Scott, but it most certainly won’t be my last. 

Perfectly cast with the talented narrator Andi Arndt in the story of Lydia, the runaway bridge had me chuckling on several occasions. 

When Lydia meets Vaughn, a down at heel rock star lets just say she isn’t looking at her best, although from the description the author portrays of Vaughn he was someone I guess most readers would want to have seen. Me for one, anyway! 

I loved the dialogue between these two characters and the way they bounced off each other. Also the extra introspective accounts of each of their thoughts was made the story even more enthralling. 

I dare you not to fall in love with their relationship in this story, and the way it is written is a exceptional, with intense dialogues and beautiful creative flowing words. Cue Ms. Arndt who brought these characters so expertly to life making this book a must for all contemporary listeners and rock star readers alike. 

This is a definite #oneclick audio book. I’m heading to Trust now. Book two of these standalone books within a series. 

Story 5* 

Narration 5*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *